2018 Weekly Legislative Update – 1

Chamber Blog- Maryland General Assembly

By Rick Weldon

 

The General Assembly convenes at 12:00pm on Wednesday, January 10, 2018 for the annual 90-day legislative session. Many of you know that I spent some really good years in that environment, and still love to chat about policy debates and significant accomplishments, both good and bad.

I’ll do my best to keep you, our Chamber members, updated throughout the Session, and I’ll work hard to try to avoid partisanship, since Heaven knows we’ll be treated to enough of that from the folks in Annapolis.

You should be privy to the same sort of background information that our legislators use as they dive into the policy issues that will come before them during the session. The document they use to get informed on policy is the Issues Papers Report, prepared for our legislators by the Department of Legislative Services, a nonpartisan agency that drafts bills, studies fiscal impacts and manages the logistics of the General Assembly. This PDF contains a wealth of research on the most important issues facing the legislature.

You can contact all of our legislators, to inquire about their positions, to ask for their support, or to share your own opinions. While they will be VERY busy for the next 90 days, they are also attentive to email from you, their constituents. Be sure to let them know that you live in Frederick County, and that you are a registered voter.

Here are their email addresses:

Senator Ron Young: Ronald.Young@senate.state.md.us

Senator Michael Hough: Michael.Hough@senate.state.md.us

Delegate Kathy Afzali: Kathy.Afzali@house.state.md.us

Delegate Barrie Ciliberti: Barrie.Ciliberti@house.state.md.us

Delegate Bill Folden: William.Folden@house.state.md.us

Delegate Carol Krimm: Carol.Krimm@house.state.md.us

Delegate Karen Lewis-Young: Karen.Young@house.state.md.us

Delegate David Vogt: David.Vogt@house.state.md.us

And as always, feel free to ask me any questions you might have about our state government, legislature or the political process. rweldon@frederickchamber.org

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *