Third Annual Public Safety Awards


About the Awards

At the third annual Public Safety Awards on March 11, 2014 more than 330 professionals gathered to celebrate the hard work and achievements of Frederick County Fire and Rescue, Law Enforcement, and Emergency Services personnel. The event included breakfast provided by Leiter’s Fine Catering and a ceremony including video presentations detailing the incident and responses that lead to the award winner’s nomination. Thank you to Kim Dacey, emcee. Dacey, a Frederick native, joined WBAL-TV 11 in 2007 where she has been a reporter, anchor, and producer. Currently she is a general assignment reporter and delivers morning traffic reports.

2014 Award Winners

Download the 2014 Public Safety Awards ceremony program book for a complete description of award criteria and incident details

  • People's Choice Award - Law Enforcement

    Michele Bowman
  • Officer of the Year - Frederick City Police

    Corporal Charles Snyder
  • Leadership Award

    Sergeant Thomas Leone
  • Unit Achievement Award

    Frederick Police Department's Uniformed Auxiliary
  • Life Saving Award

    Officer Brian Wolf
  • Distinguished Service Award

    Officer Andrew Alger Officer Jason Essel Officer Wade Milyard
  • Civilian Employee of the Year

    Dispatcher Tyler Hill
  • Officer of the Year - Brunswick

    Corporal Christopher Handler
  • Officer of the Year - Thurmont

    Corporal Daniel Fitzgerald
  • Trooper of the Year - State Police

    Trooper First Class Adam Matthai
  • Deputy of the Year - Sheriff's Office

    Corporal John Packard

  • People's Choice Award - Fire & Rescue

    Citizen's Truck Company
  • Career Firefighter of the Year

    Firefighter Daniel Ging
  • Life Saving Award

    Firefighter Daniel Minnick Firefighter Technician Mark Hinkle
  • Bronze Medal of Outstanding Performance

    Cheif Benjamin Nalborczyk Captain Matthew Thews Lieutenant Newman Carmack Firefighter David Bowman Firefighter Paul Hackey Firefighter Thomas Hanagan, II Firefighter Michael Metzger Firefighter William Veith Firefighter & Chaplain Gary White Firefighter Derek White
  • Silver Medal of Bravery

    Lieutenant Joshua Laird Firefighter Matthew Knight Firefighter Kenneth Sollers Technician Steven Williams
  • Gold Medal of Valor

    Firefighter Jonathan Haddad


Community support is a cornerstone of this event and our generous sponsors make it possible to honor these hometown heroes.

Silver Sponsors

Frederick County Bank
Frederick Mutual Insurance Company
Mount Saint Mary's University
State Farm Agents: Missy Baker, WIll Ehrenpresis, Danielle Leonard, Tim Winter

Bronze Sponsors

The Plamondon Companies

Table Sponsors

Acela Technologies
Atlantic Emergency Solutions
Berman, Sobin, Gross, Feldman & Darby, LLP
Canam Steel Corporation

Colonial Jewelers Comcast Community Living Frederick Brick Works The Frederick News-Post Keeney & Basford Funeral Homes P.A. Leidos Biomedial Research Inc., McLean, Koehler, Sparks & Hammond

Mid-Atlantic Center for Emergency Management Miles & Stockbridge Municipal Emergency Services National Safety Supply Photohog Photography PNC Bank Rodgers Consulting Stauffer Funeral Homes Top Quality Janitorial Services Warner Services

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *